top of page

Baked and Wired


Despite being a cupcake-hater my entire life, last week I was overcome with a sudden craving for cupcakes that I had to curb. Since Sprinkles Cupcakes receives so much attention and has a pretty good flavor lineup, my first thought was to go there, but after talking to the ever-so-knowledgeable Kristen and Uppi from @districtdelicious, I was completely sold on Baked and Wired in Georgetown (ironically, just around the corner from Sprinkles).

Of course I had done my research and knew that Baked and Wired had way more to offer than just cupcakes, which is what made it a bit of a dangerous choice; go in with a craving for cupcakes, come out with a set of food baby triplets fathered by three different men: cupcakes, cookie sandwiches, and brownies. Nonetheless, I made my way over there, did an A+ parallel parking job right in front of the store, and prepared myself for some serious dessert action.

Right when I entered I knew I was gonna be a while. On top of all the insanely delicious looking cupcake options, there were cookies, brownies, and dessert bars galore. The cookies are self-serve, which is a quick way to consume an insane amount of sugar before you’ve even placed your order, but hey I’m not complaining.

When it comes to the cupcakes, one of each kind is kept on display, which is not only super helpful for decision making purposes, but it ensures that the cupcakes you order will actually be fresh since they’re not sitting out. There are also menus with all the cupcake descriptions that you can pick up, and thank god for that. Otherwise, I would’ve been pacing back and forth for an hour looking at all the descriptions to come to a decision.

After much scrutinizing, I decided to go with these four cupcakes: strawberry, dirty chai, Elvis, and German chocolate. Oh, and a peanut butter brownie for good measure.

Before I continue, let me go back to the subtle bomb I dropped earlier on about being a cupcake hater. The problem I have with most cupcakes is usually there being either too much frosting or super artificial frosting. Baked and Wired’s cupcakes, however, had the perfect amount of frosting. The frostings were also pretty sweet, especially the pink buttercream on the strawberry cupcake, so it didn’t take much to get the job done.

 

The cake bases on all four cupcakes were everyone’s favorite word: ~moist~

But seriously, the cakes were delicious and paired very well with their respective frostings. Of the four I got, my favorite had to be the German chocolate. I’m not even that into chocolate, but I’m a coconut fanatic and the gooey coconut-pecan frosting on there was amazing.

I’m not gonna take the time to explain what was in each cupcake, but here’s a (crappy) picture of the menu so you can (kinda) see all the awesome options they have:

 

Now for that peanut butter brownie I got…

Salty peanut butter and rich chocolate, need I say more? Do yourself a favor and resist eating this in the store so that you can take it home and microwave it.

Overall, super pleased with this place and if I get a chance to go back, I’ll definitely be trying out one of their oatmeal cookie sandwiches and the OMG bar (graham cracker, chocolate, caramel, and marshmallow...OMG is right).


bottom of page