top of page

Frutta Bowls


If someone were to attempt to pinpoint the biggest health-food trend of this decade, it would come down to a bloodbath between avocado toast and açaí bowls. Until very recently, I wasn't a fan of either. What changed my opinion on avocados was some killer ahi tuna nachos in Miami, and what changed my opinion on açaí bowls was Frutta Bowls in Livingston, NJ.

 

"Changed my opinion" is a strong understatement for what Frutta Bowls did for me, and more importantly, for my taste buds. These bowls are beyond awesome, and not to mention, incredibly well priced compared to those at other açaí bowl shops.

But before I get to food, I want to point out some other things I love about this place. First, the color scheme, decor, and overall look of Frutta Bowls is both sleek and vibrant with big, cozy black sofas, pineapple artwork (my favorite), digital menu boards, and hints of turquoise present throughout it all (don't quote me on that if the actual color is cyan or something). It's the type of place you want to stay and hang out at long after your bowl is gone. Or better yet, just go back for a second bowl to extend your visit (and maybe your waistline). Also, as I mentioned before, the prices are extremely fair, especially considering the large portions.

Frutta Bowls' bowl menu is broken down into four categories: açaí bowls, pitaya bowls, oatmeal bowls, and kale bowls. Don't be alarmed, the kale bowls are not salads, nor do they even taste like kale. In fact, my favorite bowl was actually the caveman bowl, which just so happens to be a kale bowl.

 

The caveman bowl's base is a blend of kale, banana, pineapple, and almond milk, creating a gorgeous bright green color and an even more gorgeous flavor. I don't know if it was the saltiness of the almond butter, or the sweetness of the coconut here that won me over, but what I do know is that this is my new favorite way to eat kale.

 

To get a taste of some of Frutta Bowls' pitaya and açaí, I went with the Bermuda bowl and the muscle bowl, respectively. Just like the caveman bowl, these were composed of a medley of toppings that went together perfectly and sat on top of a hearty base of the fruit blend. An important note here is how the fruit blends weren't watery, which is the issue I have found in bowls from other places . Every bite I took combined elements of a smooth fruity base, salty and creamy nut butters, chewy fruit, and....WAIT. I almost forgot the most mind-blowingly delicious element of these bowls, and that is, wait for it...the granola.

I don't know what it is I loved so much about this granola, but to make this quick for you, it was perfect. Crunchy, sweet, light, and certainly way better than any other granola I've ever had.

 

Now what really sets Frutta Bowls above its competitors are the oatmeal bowls. Cold açaí, warm oatmeal, and sweet toppings; what's not to like here? The first one I tried was the cinnamon apple caramel bowl. The name pretty much says it all, and its taste resembled that of an apple dumpling.

 

The second one I tried was not only the best thing I tasted (aka ate every last bite of) throughout my entire visit, but also one of the best desserts I've had in a long time. I'm talking about the coco puff bowl.

 

I know what you're thinking,"Dessert?? I thought we were talking about healthy food." Yes, most of the ingredients in this bowl are fairly healthy (chocolate whey protein, Nutella, peanut butter, oats, banana ,almond milk, graham crackers, and whipped cream) , but when it comes down to it, this is more of a dessert bowl, and an unbelievably perfect one at that.

It was warm, insanely thick and creamy, and the perfect combination of nutty and chocolatey. I actually have to stop talking about it now or I'll start crying over how badly I want another one.

 

In addition to the bowls, Frutta Bowls makes and sells a variety of other fun items such as smoothies, kombucha tea on tap, peanut butter protein balls, and even apparel (yes, I'm in love with my new t-shirt). In other words, the health-food fanatics (myself included) will not get bored here.

With nine locations throughout NJ, Frutta Bowls makes it easy for many of my fellow Jerseyans to get their fruit bowl fix. Although I'm not extremely close to any of the locations, I have a strong feeling that I'll be getting my butt out to Livingston way more often from now on...


bottom of page